Sandbach Concerts – English Music Spiralling Through the Centuries

Sioned Williams –Harp

Sandbach Concert Series 25th September 2013 7

English music spiralling through the centuries


Two poignant yet amazingly diverse compositions by composers Michael Stimpson and Anthony Bolton

and works by

Dowland… a courtly renaissance master

Smart… a splendid classical composer in the style of Haydn

Parish-Alvars…  Berlioz called him ‘The Liszt of the harp’

Britten… a central figure of 20th century music

York Bowen… nicknamed ‘The English Rachmaninoff’

John Dowland 1563-1626          My Lady Hunsdon’s Puffe


Henry Smart 1778-1823              Sonata for Harp

Allegro moderato

                       Andante con espres

             Allegro vivace

Anthony Bolton   b. 1950               Impromptu for harp


Elias Parish-Alvars  1808-1849      Chanson Grec de Santorino


Benjamin Britten 1913-1976          Interlude from

                                            A Ceremony of Carols


Michael Stimpson  b. 1948             The Drowning of Capel Celyn 

                                               (Boddi Capel Celyn)                                 


                                               First Light   (Golau cynta’r wawr)

                                                   Wheels of treason (Olwynion brad)

                  Flooding (Llifogi)

                     Sunken (Suddedig)

                    Farewell (Ffarwél)


York Bowen 1884-1961                  Arabesque